Library Movement in India

Library Movement in India

The British Period (1757-1947)

Establishment of Various Libraries in Inida in the British Rule

  • The Bengal Royal Asiatic Society set up library in 1784
  • Bombay Royal Asiatic Society in 1804
  • Calcutta Public Library in 1835
  • Andrews Library, Surat in 1850
  • Gaya Public Library, Gaya in 1855
  • Long Library, Rajkot in 1856
  • Connemara Public Library, Madras in 1860
  • Government Library, Janagarh in 1867
  • Adyar Library, Adyar in 1886
  • Dahi Laxmi Library, Nadiad in 1892.
  • Gujarat Vernacular Society along with a library, in Ahmedabad 1848
  • Barton Library, Bhavnagar in 1882

Libraries Establishment by various States

  • Baroda State Library in Baroda in 1877
  • Cochin established Public Library and Reading Room in Trichur in 1873
  • Dhar established Victoria General Library in Dhar in 1856
  • Indore established General Library in Indore in 1852
  • Jaipur established Maharajah’s Public Library in Jaipur in 1899
  • Jammu and Kashmir in 1879
  • Kahtiawar in 1886
  • Kolhapur in 1850
  • Nizam’s Dominion in 1891
  • Travancore in 1829

In 1808  the Bombay Government initiated a proposal to register libraries, which were to be given copies of books published from the ‘Funds for the Encouragement of Literature’

Library Movement and  Baroda State

The Maharaja Sayajirao III, Gaekwar of Baroda  is remembered today as the Father of Library Movement in India

  • Every public library instituted through the State’s financial assistance was to be named as Circulating Library”
  • William
  • 1910 -Alanson Borden, a pupil-assistant of Charles A Cutter was invited in Baroda state to develop library sevices.
  • Public library movement started since 1910 in India
  • In  1911 Borden conducted the first formal library-training programme in India at Baroda.
  • He started Baroda Library Club
  • He started publishing “Library Miscellany”,  quarterly in three languages between 1912 and 1919.

Post-Independence Period

  • The Connemara Public Library in Madras became the State Central Library in 1950
  • Delhi Public Library was established in 1951 as the first UNESCO Public Library Pilot Project under the joint auspices of UNESCO and Government of India
  • In 1954, the Delivery of Book Act was passed.

Every publisher in India to deposit one copy each of its publications to the National Library in Calcutta, the Asiatic Society Library in Bombay, Connemara Public Library in Madras, and Delhi Public Library in New Delhi

  • The Advisory Committee for Libraries as constituted in 1957 by the Government of India, with K P Sinha as the Chairman.

   The Committee submitted its report in 1959 with a drafted Model Library Bill

  • The Planning Commission constituted a Working Group on Public Libraries in 1964

(the Commission submitted its report in 1965 with a Model Public Libraries Act)

  • In 1972, the Government of India, Planning Commission constituted Working Group on Development of Public Libraries to make recommendations for library development
  • In 1972, Raja Rammohun Roy LibraryFoundation (RRRLF), an autonomous body under the Department of Culture, Ministry of Education, was established .
  • A Working Group on Modernization of Library Services and Informatics was appointed by the Planning Commission in 1983 and submitted its report in 1984 with the formulation of National Policy on Library Services and Informatics.
  •  Delhi Public Library became a copyright library in 1982
  • National Literacy Mission was adopted in 1986
  • The Government of India, Department of Culture, appointed a Committee on National Policy on Library and Information System in 1985
  • In 1986 National Education Policy on Education was started
  • The National Book Policy, 1986  was created.

History of National Library

  • was established in 1836 in the name of Calcutta Public Library
  • Prince Dwarkanath Tagore was the first proprietor of the Calcutta Public Library.
  • The Imperial Library was formed in 1891 consisting of government departmental, Secretariat libraries of the East India Company.
  • Lord Curzon later merged  of Calcutta Public Library with the then Imperial Library
  • The library, called Imperial Library, was formally opened to the public on 30th January 1903 at Metcalf Hall, Kolkata
  • John Macfarlane, the Asst. Librarian of the British Museum, London, was appointed as the first Librarian of the Imperial Library.
  • After the independence the Government of India changed the name of the Imperial Library as the National Library
  • Shri B.S. Kesavan was appointed as the first librarian of the National Library.

Other Libraries in India

  • Khuda Bakhsh Oriental Public Library –       Patna (October 1891)
  • Rampur Raza Library                                      Rampur was founded by Nawab Faizullah Khan in 1774
  • Thanjavur Maharaja Serfoji's Sarasvati Mahal Library, Thanjavur

 (The Encyclopedia Britannica in its survey of the Libraries of the world mentions this as "the most remarkable Library in India")

  • Harekrushna Mahtab State Library--              Bhubaneswar

Recent Topic Notes

05 January 2017
05 January 2017
05 January 2017
05 January 2017
05 January 2017
05 January 2017
05 January 2017
05 January 2017

WWW.LISSETNET.COM WhatsApp  Group Invitation 

If you wann to be a member of Whatsapp Group member,then click following link form your mobile.


Note: If you are already member of any whtsapp group then dont add here.You will be removed if found.

Visitors Counter

All DaysAll Days125164
© 2016 LISSETNET Developed by Prashant Kalloli

Please publish modules in offcanvas position.


Cant' Copy

You Can't Copy this material.For .pdf file please contact Prashant Kalloli